top of page

"Jugend debattiert brought me one thing above all: precisely structured thinking."

Christian George Negrutiu, representing Romania, achieved the remarkable 4th place in the international final of Jugend debatiert in the year 2021.


1. What inspired / Who encouraged you to participate in Jugend debattiert?


About two years ago I came into contact with Jugend debattiert because the state finals were

held annually at my school in Bucharest and I was allowed to be there as a spectator. Then I finally turned 17 and so I was allowed to take part in it as well. I was particularly impressed by the fact that it is possible to get in touch with people who have different opinions.





2. What do you like about debating? / Why do you like debating?


What I like most about debating is the exchange and how everything is precisely structured (especially the opening and the end), although you are actually kind of arguing. I also find it very exciting that you remain fair in this “controversy” and address the arguments of the other fellow debaters with respect.



3. Would you say it is difficult to debate in german? Why/Why not?


It is not exhausting or difficult for me to debate in German because I grew up speaking the language. I use the German language every day, so it was even more fun for me to be able to speak and debate in German.



4. What do you say in retrospect, In what ways did participating in Jugend debattiert benefit you?


Jugend debattiert brought me one thing above all: precisely structured thinking. This is especially important in situations when countless ideas are popping into your head and you don't know how to say them all. In addition, my participation in Jugend debattiert has also contributed to me becoming more interested in current political and social issues.



5. What do you think this competition can do for a democratic society?


In my opinion, it is essential in a democratic society that when there are differences of opinion, one should first seek a dialogue that is as concrete as possible and based on facts, no matter what the problem at hand.



6. What do you want to do after school? How can your German skills, but also your skills from the competition, help you in the future?


After school I would like to study human medicine, but I think this competition will help me in various lectures and presentations or in conducting interesting debates in the future.

bottom of page